CIMC News‎ > ‎

2012 Competition Draws completed

posted 1 Feb 2012, 11:27 by Unknown user   [ updated 2 Feb 2012, 10:10 ]
The draws for the 2012 competitions at adult level were completed on Tuesday 31st January 2012

Confirmed are the draws for the Senior League, Junior C Championship, U21B1 Championship and Minor B1 Championship. The draw for the Senior Championship will be held on the 19th March. The first phase of the senior Championship is knockout so the dates are fixed and the delay allows a greater focus on the League ties.

In the Senior League, the teams are drawn into 4 groups, three group of five teams and one group of six. Moycullen have been drawn in a group containing Tommie Larkins, Castlegar, Sarsfields, Gort and Kinvara. The first round of fixtures takes place on Feb 12th.

GROUP A                      GROUP B 
 Portumna    Liam Mellows
 Ardrahan    Mullagh
 St Thomas    Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry
 Clarinbridge    Carnmore
 Beagh    Athenry
 Craughwell    Tommie Larkins
 Padraig Pearses    Castlegar
 Turloughmore    Sarsfields
 Kiltormer    Gort
 Loughrea    Moycullen

Note: teams will play the other sides in their group, and not cross-group matches as per last year.

The first round of league matches are due out the weekend of Sat/Sun 11/12 Feb.

In the Junior C Championship, Moycullen are drawn with Bearna/Na Forbacha, Michéal Breathnachs,Tuam, Craughwell and Annaghdown. Moycullen do intend to enter the Junior B league competition also but the groups for this have yet to be finalised.

GROUP A             GROUP B 
 Clarinbridge    Barna-Furbo
 Ballygar    Moycullen
 St Thomas    Michael Breathnachs
 Kinvara    Tuam
 Sylane    Craughwell
 Liam Mellows    Annaghdown

Top 4 teams in each group qualify for the quarter-finals.

At U21 level, Moycullen are competing at U21B1 this year. This competition is made up of two groups of four with the top two in each group going forward to semifinals.  Moycullen will face Portumna, Ballinasloe and Annaghdown. The first fixture will be on Feb 19th. The full draw is;

GROUP A                GROUP B
 Kiltormer    Portumna
 Ballygar    Annaghdown
 Sylane    Ballinasloe
 Michael Breathnachs    Moycullen

Note: Top 2 teams qualify for semi-finals.

At Minor level, we will be competing in the Minor B1 Championship. In the Group phase we are drawn with Ballygar, Meelick Eyrecourt, Michael Cusacks, Annaghdown and Ballinasloe. Games begin on Easter weekend, which is April 6th. The full draw is;

GROUP A            GROUP B
 Padraig Pearses    Ballygar
 Sylane    Meelick-Eyrecourt
 Sarsfields    Moycullen
 Skehana    Michael Cusacks
 Mountbellew-Moylough    Annaghdown
 Kiltormer    Ballinasloe

Note: Top four sides to qualify for the quarter-finals.