AGM 2012 Report

Post date: Jan 20, 2013 4:14:52 PM

The 2012 AGM of Cumann Iománaíocht Maigh Cuilinn took place on Sunday afternoon, January 13th at the Clubhouse in Baile Doite. The atmosphere at the meeting was very positive as it was felt the club had made progress on all fronts.

Highest praise was reserved for the 2012 Minor B1 players and management who had achieved a first Minor title for the club since 1989. There was recognition too for the club’s success at the All Ireland 11’s competition on All Ireland hurling final weekend. The 11’s title is added to the St Judes 7’s title won a decade ago.

In his address, Chairperson Kenneth Fox, on the challenge of maintaining Cumann Iománaíocht Máigh Cuilinn as a Senior Club. Solid performances at U16, Minor and U21 have built on great work being done at younger level. Time moves on quickly and the club can expect that some of this year’s u14 will have played Senior hurling in four year’s time. He felt the club should be pleased at the level of participation we achieved in all age groups adult and juvenile this year. This all takes a huge amount of effort from a large number of people. Clubs in Galway have many problems but one problem we do not have in Moycullen yet is population. The cludb needs a large group of people to support these numbers.

He thanked his two (retiring) fellow officers. Kathy Keady and Caoimh Davoren, who he described as a pleasure to work with. Of Executive Committee, he said one example of their commitment was the number of fully attended meeting throughout the year. In conclusion, he said a great club was in place that there was room and potential to grow and improve. He urged people to come forward and help us in whatever way they can.

The Treasurer, Caoimh Davoren, produced another comprehensive financial report. While the club did have recourse to dip into its financial reserves early in the year, sufficient funds were generated to restore this. Despite an income of €76,000 (last year’s €90,000 included London trip and Féile) the club only retained a small surplus on the year’s activities. A great deal of financial pressure was alleviated by the fact that the LOTTO was having such an extraordinary run. Income from the LOTTO was €23,000, a third of income and almost double last year and despite the fact that the club was foregoing €100 per week in favour of the development of facilities at the pitch. The club had also provided a loan of €20,000 from the reserves to this development also. He apologised that there had been very little in the way of other fundraising, but the field was very crowded with other fundraisers, both local and county which continually targeted the same people. A number of costs had been minimised. Hurleys in particular had benefitted from the willingness of a number of people willing to repair them. There was much praise for the Treasurer for his detailed accounts, in what was a year of multiple complex operations and transactions. Paraic Davoren congratulated the Registrar, Secretary and Treasurer on the high level of membership fees collected.

The Secretary, Kathy Keady and the Juvenile Committee Secretary, Maureen Bohan congratulated a number of people who enjoyed particular success in 2012 and acknowledged several people and groups who made a significant contribution to the club throughout the year. There were contributions also from Juvenile Committee Chairperson, Aodh Davoren, and each team manager made some brief comments around the experience of their team in 2012

At the opening of the election of officers and the Executive, Honorary President, John O’Connor, congratulated the officers on all their work and reserved particular praise for the efforts being made in the Cúl Camps. He remembered all deceased members in particular, Eddie Flaherty, who had passed away recently in the US. Eddie had given John his Moycullen Junior debut as a fifteen year old.

Mr Micheál Faherty and Mr Morgan Darcy were added to the list of Vice Presidents.

The following were appointed to Executive positions for 2013.

Kenneth Fox, Chairperson; Tim Bohan, Vice Chairperson; The position of Secretary remains unfilled; Caoimh Davoren, Treasurer; Tom McDermott, PRO; Maureen Bohan, Registrar; Seosamh O’Fatharta, Culture & Language Officer; Paraic Davoren, Children’s Officer.

Aodh Davoren (Juvenile Committee Chair), Ann Marie Walsh (Juvenile Committee Secretary), Michael Darcy (Hurling Committee Delegate) Brid Noone, John O’Connor, Caoimh Davoren & Morgan Darcy are appointed as Officers of the Executive.

The Players have yet to meet to appoint their representative.